Ask: Fall Trends from the Runway my Way

Currently, I am sitting in a Starbucks and at since I’ve gotten here at least 5 people have come in to order Pumpkin Spice Lattes. That can only mean one thing– autumn is upon us. I have always felt that autumn is a bittersweet season. Here in the Midwest, come October, the trees erupt in flaming reds and paint the skies a beautiful crimson as they take their last breaths before winter. The scenery and the pleasant weather, however, are marred by the knowledge that two months from now even a square inch of exposed skin will pose a hazard to your wellbeing. Fashion will be foregone as people go into hiding in their shapeless parkas and snow boots. October is one of the last few months that you can be fashionable without risking your health– plus, the weather lends itself perfectly for layering and coats. Just like the trees, during the fall, I give every outfit my full attention before winter comes and I succumb to parkas and fleece lined leggings.

There are some runway trends that I am hoping to adapt into my personal style in the next few months.


Vinyl

vinyl.jpg

Saint Laurent FW17

Leather is a staple in my wardrobe but this season I am turning up the shine and experimenting with patent leather and VINYL. Saint Laurent’s femme fatale opening look was sexy without trying. The slouchy jacket-dress isn’t trying too hard, but it is also not afraid of attention. The model’s untouched hair and makeup are archetypal of the effortlessly sexy and confident Saint Laurent girl.

vinyl3.jpg

I. Am. Gia Skirt– $55

For me, the head to toe vinyl look may be a little over the top; however, I have been loving substituting my staple leather pieces for the edgier and sexier vinyl options. As I have mentioned before, my fashion essentials are not-so-basic basics. Substituting a leather skirt with a vinyl one allows me to throw together effortless outfits that still look interesting because of the unexpected fabric. Also, since I love wearing all black, adding vinyl adds dimension to my outfits. This one from I. Am. Gia. goes a step further and adds some subtle moto accents and makes the skirt even more of a statement piece! (ps. Check out their whole website. The clothes are so badass.)


Grandpa Plaid

plaid1.jpg

Tome FW17

Plaid is back– but not pretty feminine plaid. This season’s look is ugly, tacky plaid and I am HERE for it. This look from Tome features pants with a glaring square checkered pattern in a grossly clashing warm mustard and cool aqua– it was one of my favorite pieces to walk down the runway last season. There is always something that entices me about looks that don’t try to be appealing. (ps. This brand is relatively new on the scene and they are committed to environmental sustainability and ethical production. Yes.)

plaid2.jpeg

ASOS Pants– $53

If you do not yet own wide leg trousers then I will let you in on a secret– they are socially acceptable pajama bottoms. They are incredibly easy to wear and if they are patterned like these, you can just chuck a t-shirt and Vans on and have a complete outfit. Conversely, you could go the other direction and add a satin tank to contrast the masculine plaid and finish the outfit with strappy heels for a night out. The plaid on these pants is innocuous with no bold colors and is therefore easier to style but still looks like something that you’d find in your grandpa’s closet.


Waist Belts

belt1.jpg

Hermes FW17

The past few seasons have seen the resurgence of corsets, but this season belts are taking back the spotlight. Thick belts across the narrowest part of the body accentuates the waist. This season, these belts were frequently seen paired with menswear inspired shirts and coats to recapture the feminine form. This thick Hermés belt was paired with a tailored tuxedo-like coat. The buckles and tough leather maintain the masculine look while still providing shape the outfit. I love the corseted look without the overt sexiness of an actual corset!

Missguided Belt– $29

I love wearing menswear inspired pieces because of the clean lines and the effortlessness they bring to an outfit; however, given that I am not particular voluptuous, they tend to actually make me look like a man. To counteract this, I usually pair menswear pieces with very feminine cuts or fabrics but wearing a waist-clinching belt is another alternative. This belt is minimalist would look great over an oversized sweater dress or peeking out from under a blazer. Alternatively you could take cues from Hermés and wear it over an over coat such as the Stedman which I mentioned in my previous post!


Red

red1.jpg

Givenchy Ready-to-Wear Fall 17

Givenchy’s entire ready-to-wear collection last season was comprised of head to toe crimson looks. Several other fashion houses also had all red looks walk down the runway. This season, red is not a statement color but a neutral. Usually when doing a monochrome look I steer clear of matte fabrics as they make an outfit look flat but the layered shirt, blazer, and coat all in the same fabric make this outfit look almost like a drawing and I am into it. In all black, this outfit would be rather lackluster, but in this vibrant red it is bold yet classic. Also, can we talk about the shoes…

YUMI-WO14_V1.jpg

Yumi Kim Coat– $348

I am personally not quite ready to wear an all red outfit. Instead, I am loving wearing red outerwear. Since outerwear becomes the focal piece of an outfit as the weather cools, wearing a red coat such as this one would make it look like you’re wearing all red if the belt was tied. Since most coats are black or camel, this bright carmine shade instantly adds color and interest to an outfit. This particular coat is a classic easy-to-wear trench cut but an unexpected color– a not-so-basic basic. I would add a red bag to play up the red on red trend or throw on red over the knee boots for an even more daring look!


Thank you guys for coming back to read! I hope you are enjoying these fashion related posts. Would you like for me to actually take photos of my outfits and post them on here? Leave an answer in the comments!

Best,

Kate


3 thoughts on “Ask: Fall Trends from the Runway my Way

Leave a comment